The Curious Case of Darrel Boyd

I’m lazing in the broiling sun, drinking a beer and watching players warm-up when the jerry rigged speakers crackle to life. “Will the person who owns the rust-colored 1982 Oldsmobile Cutlass who parked in the handicapped section please come to customer services?”

A man wearing a Led Zeppelin t- shirt and bell bottoms rises from his seat and shuffles slowly to the concourse, an abundance of denim swishing along behind him.

I am in Austin, Texas to watch the Senators of the non-affiliated, amateur, Sandlot Revolution. The main objective here is to see a few bands, have fun with friends and crack open a few beers. It’s well over 100 degrees and my girlfriend is slathering sunscreen on my neck. It seems Latina girls hate when their Caucasian boyfriends have sunburns on their neck because the term “redneck” becomes all too real when a metaphor turns into an unsophisticated visual reality. (her words, not mine)

I’m also here to see first base coach, Darrel Boyd. A batter takes a walk and Boyd pats him on the ass and whispers something in his ear. The now-runner takes a few obligatory steps towards second base before dancing back to his original home.

Boyd is an older man now, but he was once a hot shot “bonus baby,” drafted by the Oakland A’s in the first round in 1973. The aged baseballer has an openness of spirit and an immense hunger for the game. He is a large man of 6 ‘4,  was quick to flash his Colgate-smile, and had the swagger and cadence of 1970’s blaxploitation star Rudy Ray Moore…a combination of bullshit, razzle dazzle and raw nerve. 

“Once I got drafted the pressure was immense”, Boyd said. “I just couldn’t accept that I was a flawed human, and that sort of philosophy will make someone who plays a game of routine failure go mad.” 

Darrel had all the tools…could hit, run and had a cannon for an arm. His teammates had a vivid account that he was traumatized by the murder of his 13-year-old brother who had inadvertently stumbled upon some teenage hillbillies’ dirt weed crop, and this incident loomed large on his psyche. He was a man with a deeply rooted sense of loss, never able to fully recover.

“We were close, my brother and I, but he was in the wrong place at the wrong time.”

He would get into scuffles with umpires, destroy equipment, and often find himself tossed out of the game and taking an early shower alone. He was gaining the reputation as a hot head.  All in all, it was clear that his outbursts were becoming an issue and that he needed to find a more productive way of expressing his emotions.

“The organization didn’t really give a shit about all that nonsense as long as I kept hitting. (He hit 32 dingers for the Modesto A’s in 1975) But a strange thing happened–I just stopped hitting. The game that came to me so easily my whole life just seemed perplexing and my attitude made me dispensable. I felt lost and confused, unable to understand why the game that had once been so simple was now out of my reach. The ball looked microscopic”

Darrel hit around .220 in 1978 for the San Jose Missions and was released. His dream had died without ever getting a major league at-bat. 

“I sometimes think about the coulda-shoulda-woulda, but as long as I’m above ground everything is alright by me. I’m not really the apathetic type, but the world sure is a cruel audience.” 

*********

Note: this was written in the tradition of George Plimpton’s, The Curious Case of Sidd Finch specifically for this very day.

32 thoughts on “The Curious Case of Darrel Boyd

  1. Steve Myers

    That red neck explanation cracked me up. The music/baseball adventure sounds incredible Gary. What a great combination. 100 degrees. Holy mackeral! I hope you have AC or some good breezes coming through the windows.

    I like how you described Daryl Boyd and his reflections are so self aware specifically the impact of him losing his younger brother and then losing his ability to hit.

    Thanks for a great read on April Fool’s Day and double thanks for including Sidd Finch in this post. I love that book. I just finished reading Plimpton’s “Out of My League,” another good one about him pitching to a bunch of all-stars after I think the 1961 season, part of his “participatory journalism” series. I guess in some ways Plimpton is like Hunter S. Thompson in that they included themselves in the story. I love that approach.

    Reply
      1. Steve Myers

        Thanks Gary. I did have a great day. Walked around with my girlfriend for a couple of hours, ate some left over quesadillas, watched a Larry David episode and am now enjoying a beer. Cheers!

      2. Gary Trujillo Post author

        Man, I love Curb Your Enthusiasm. The episode where he wears a MAGA hat so people won’t talk to him is hilarious.

        Glad to hear that you two had a nice peaceful day.

  2. retrosimba

    A terrific yarn, Gary. Your creativity shines here. You had me believing. Thanks for the tip off at the end.

    Fictional or not, I think Darrel Boyd might have a kinship with Dennis “Oil Can” Boyd.

    My favorite line of your story is: “…a combination of bullshit, razzle dazzle and raw nerve.” I think that combination would get us all through life just fine.

    Reply
    1. Gary Trujillo Post author

      Thanks, Mark. I appreciate your reading very much.

      “Oil Can” got his nickname for his propensity for drinking a lot of beer which sort of reminds me of “Blue Moon” Odom who would pound beers between innings to calm his nerves. (I have a strong feeling you already know this)

      I think I was subconsciously thinking of Oil Can now that you mention it. How weird. I think you’re spot on with that observation.

      Reply
  3. Dan P

    I forgot what day it was – but when you mentioned Sidd Finch – I said “wait a minute”.

    • I searched baseball-reference with multiple spellings of Darrel, Darrell, Daryl, Daryle
    • I looked up the A’s 1973 first round pick
    • And then I knew for sure

    But what you described was very real – very nicely written as always – evoking thoughts to those days lazing around outside and dreaming of writing or women or whatever.

    When I was reading it – I got a real Moneyball vibe as it felt like Billy Beane’s story projected on another player. First rounder who never really made it – though Billy did get a few cups of coffee at the big leagues.

    As always – thanks for the fun today. I did have my own April Fools joke – NC State an 11th seed makes the Final Four with a Charles Barkley Round Mound of Rebound 2.0 leading the way.

    Reply
      1. Gary Trujillo Post author

        Nope. I recently have been tinkering with the controversial world of AI. It’s quite a hoot if you know how to erase and cut and paste images. No word yet on computers taking over the world, though. Fingers crossed.

      2. Dan P

        I’m really concerned now. Is this really Gary writing this post? Did some 18 year old in Thailand hack into his account and upload a post based on an AI compilation of all the Coco Crisp’s Afro posts over the years?

        Am I really real? Did I actually read this post and respond to it?

        Is my self driving car taking me to a meeting point in the desert where they are bringing all those who voted a certain way? Or maybe all the Astro fans who read Oakland A fan blogs?

        Did the Astros really get swept 4-0 over the weekend and trail the Oakland A’s or is someone creating a parallel universe of bad Astros’ baseball and making me pay exorbitant amounts for it on my cable?

    1. Gary Trujillo Post author

      I am so glad you researched! A successful April Fool’s joke! That’s just tremendous.

      Yeah, NC State is quite the story, and they sort of have their own “Baby Shaq.” I love that he’s playing the old school style of pounding it inside and making these soft modern day players pay. No need to jack up absent-minded threes for this team. I’m rooting for them.

      As always your comments are a treat, Dan. Have a good one.

      Reply
  4. Anonymous

    Nice one Gary, I’m still in the Oakland A’s parking lot at the Coliseum boycotting the move to Las Vegas, come on down, we’re having a blast!….I think I saw Krazy George Henderson, he’s wearing his Cal State attire. :)

    Reply
      1. Gary Trujillo Post author

        I’ve only been to Boston myself, but I was too young to appreciate it. I just remember people calling me Gah-ree instead of the regular Gare-ree. LOL.

  5. aflbob2006

    Gary,

    Thanks for the usual great read. Plimpton would have loved it. I prefer your descriptions though. And has been previously stated, there are guys like that coaching, managing or still playing-maybe without the razzle-dazzle and nerve.

    Reply
  6. Bill Pike

    Thanks for sharing the story of Darrel Boyd, love how you find these interesting back stories, and show the sadness people endure when life punches hard.

    Reply
      1. Bill Pike

        Gary, I wouldn’t worry about the tone of your stories. Perhaps, the best learning comes from you sharing how life is not always “peaches and cream.” Keep writing as you please, and keep sharing. Life is tough, Bill

  7. Pingback: The Curious Case of Darrel Boyd - Urban Fishing Pole Cigars

Leave a comment