Josh Reddick traded as author almost swallowed by the Pacific.

2016-tsr-322-josh-reddick-tradedThere is nothing like the sensory pleasure of falling off a surfboard into the cold Southern California ocean as you tumble under a wave unmercifully for what seems like an eternity and surface gasping for air. I dragged myself across the sand, chest heaving heavily and amazed to still be in one piece.
“Did you know that most “friendships” are only reciprocal 53 percent of the time?”
A friend had brought the New York Times, a large umbrella and a bottle of vodka. She was definitely not going into the water and apparently this article had caught her attention.
“Hmmm…is this a modern phenomenon?” I asked, still gasping for air.
“I’d say yes, considering it was a modern study.”
I sat for a minute quietly thinking about my own life and the relationships that had come and gone. I supposed that I had never seen any sort of friendship as “forever” because of my own abandonment by my father. Because of this thought, and the anxiety of the inevitable, perhaps I never put the time or the effort into friendships that I should have. I simply exhausted all avenues and then quietly moved on with little care.
“Looks like your favorite player was traded,” she said.
“Josh Reddick!?”
Those bastards, I thought, they went and did it. Well, at least he went to the Dodgers. They’ll love him
here in Los Angeles.

Echoes of the past rumble through my head as I stared at the waves crash in deadly syncopation. I dragged
the surfboard slowly to the water and the thoughts disappeared as suddenly as they came. I didn’t like
re-visiting the past–and the way the waves were looking today perhaps I didn’t have a future either.

8 Comments

Okay, as one wordsmith to another: a Gold Star for “deadly syncopation”.

Maybe Oakland’s loss will be Dodger gain.
v

The Dodgers seem to think so as they put him in RF and sent Yasiel Puig to the minors.

The guy they got for Reddick (Cotton) has been really good since getting to Nashville. In his first appearance he was one out away from a perfect game. He finished with a one-hit complete game (12 Ks, and 0 BBs). Last night he pitched four perfect innings before giving up a home run. His pitches are really difficult for the batters to pick up. He’s not very big–listed at 5′ 11″–but he seems to have good stuff. And he’s still young–24.

Yes….I read about that “almost” perfect game somewhere. I have a feeling we’ll see this Cotton kid sometime next season. Reddick is going to command a small fortune somewhere this off-season… I suppose I was under the delusional spell of him being somewhat affordable.

Say it ain’t so! Coco Crisp traded to Cleveland.

yes! i am disappointed.

You’re surprised? Lew Wolff will not tolerate any player that threatens to bring fans into the stadium he loathes, in the city he despises. I’m just surprised it took this long. Sorry about the blog title, though- although I guess I could start paying more attention to the Indians.

Leave a Reply

